I’m no landscape photographer.

duckssnow walkwaysnowHell, I might not be any kind of photographer. I’ve taken two classes at Photo Manhattan and I own a Nikon D-7000 and what I’ve learned is that any number of people can still take better landscape pics with their iPhone (albeit the chip inside the 7000 takes nice low light photos). But if New York and Central Park are dressed up in a fresh snow fall, ¬†anyone can feel like Ansel Adams (click on photos to enlarge). I took these shots, including the header, starting at 5 a.m. on Saturday, Feb. 9, 2013. Most were taken near West 67th street.

One sad note, my tripod head came unscrewed and slid off the stand as I carried it over my shoulder. I didn’t even know the head could be detached. Boom. The camera was saved because my relatively new Nikkor 24-70m took the brunt of the hit. So the filter was destroyed but it looks as if the actual lens may have suffered some damage and the canister was bent at the filter so that I couldn’t screw it off. I also couldn’t zoom in or out anymore. This is a very expensive lens and my favorite and I’m bummed because it doesn’t look good. If you have any tips, please let me know.